Hello World!

“A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.” ~ Lao Tzu

I have so many thoughts about Africa and travel, and then soap came along! So, life simply good is a culmination of all my passions in life. As I go into the last day of my summer vacation, I am reflecting on my many passions of summer. Africa and a burning that I cannot explain has held my soul every day. I think about them, Awuar ~ Washington ~ Katito staff,  when I wake up and when I sleep. They are my heart. Nature. Riveria Nayrit with endless waves of azure, beautiful people, and our PV family always holds our heart too every June. And then our trip to the mountains with the fam, cool air, Aspen’s, and lots of fishing made great memories and lots of laughs this July. And then there are obsessions.

Soap. Cold-process. Hand-milling aka rebatch. Hot process. Essential oils. Shea butter made from women in Africa supporting their families. Herbs. Flowers petals. Clays. Gel, no gel. Swirls and layers and toppings, oh my! All natural handmade soap has become an addiction for me this summer! I started making soap for fun last November, and it’s evolved to a very scary, crafty place for those of you that know me well. I can’t get enough. It’s the perfect stress relief, a creative outlet with formulas and precision, and a challenge for the recovering perfectionist! You see every batch is different … even when you make them the same. So, the quest for the perfect bar of soap with the expectation of perfect creative inspiration is always forefront.

My family and community are going to enjoy the fruits of my experiments soon! I have more soap than we’ll use in a lifetime. And guess what …. I made a 3.5 lb. batch of Green Tea Lemongrass tonight! I do have some front-runners and some with great potential that I will perfect soon. I’ll leave you with a sneak peek of one of my favs. Energy soap with grapefruit, jasmine, Moroccan red clay, and Egyptian marigold. We’ll see where this goes.

xoxo

Leave a Reply

